CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
IN NEWTON, KANSAS
Everyone makes mistakes. Sometimes you find yourself in the wrong place at the wrong time, and sometimes you simply misunderstand what you are or aren’t supposed to do. What’s worse than the feeling of making a mistake is the possibility of that mistake ruining the rest of your life. If you’re looking for a criminal defense attorney, perhaps this is the challenge you’re facing.
MISDEMEANOR CLASSES IN KANSAS
Crimes can range from traffic violations to misdemeanors to felonies. In the state of Kansas, misdemeanors are the most common — and they can reap serious consequences. Though they typically result in less jail time than a felony would, they do appear on your criminal record for the rest of your life and can limit your job opportunities and even your ability to buy a home.
Class A Misdemeanors can result in up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $2,500. Common misdemeanors include possession of mushrooms, theft, marijuana possession, the 2nd offense of domestic battery, and the 2nd offense of driving under the influence (DUI).
Class B Misdemeanors can result in up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of $1,000. These may include criminal trespassing, simple battery, driving while suspended, criminal damage to property, the 1st offense of domestic battery, and the 1st offense of driving under the influence (DUI).
Class C Misdemeanors can result in up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of $500. Common misdemeanors include disorderly conduct, disturbing the peace, and minor in possession (MIP).
KANSAS DUI STATISTICS & CONSEQUENCES
A blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher (which can be as little as two beers) classifies you as an alcohol-impaired driver. Nationwide, 1.9% of adults admit to driving after having too much to drink. Kansas surpasses the national average at 2.1%. The state of Kansas is working to reduce the number of drunk drivers through strategies like sobriety checkpoints, mass media campaigns, and school programs.
Even your first DUI is considered a criminal offense, and it can result in penalties such as:
30-day license suspension
6-month to 1-year use of an ignition interlock device
$200 fee to reinstate your driver’s license
100 hours of required community service
$750 to $1,000 in fines
Increased insurance rates
These are just a few reasons why it’s so important to get a good attorney on your side in your DUI case.
PROFESSIONAL HELP FOR YOUR MISDEMEANOR OR DUI CASE
Stephen W. Johnson at CornerStone Law, LLC in Newton, Kansas is here to help you. If you’ve made a mistake that’s resulted in an arrest, your hope is not lost. I’ll use our in-depth knowledge of Kansas law to fight for the smallest penalty possible — so that you can move past this mistake and get your life back on track.